Listen Live on  


Syracuse's Country Station

Disaster Zone Declared For Upstate Vineyards

Disaster Zone Declared For Upstate Vineyards
Posted March 27th, 2014 @ 12:01pm by Associated Press

Albany, N.Y. - The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared a disaster in 19 upstate New York counties where the severe winter has caused extensive to the region's vineyards. 

Sens. Kirsten Gillibrand and Charles Schumer say Wednesday's declaration is intended to provide relief to grape growers and other farmers. The declaration covers primary areas in Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Oswego and Yates counties. It also includes 14 contiguous counties: Allegany, Cortland, Erie, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tompkins, Wayne and Wyoming. 

Farmers and growers will be eligible to apply for federal assistance to help them recover.

The counties included in the disaster declaration include those in the popular Finger Lakes wine region. 

The full extent of the winter's toll on New York's $4.8 billion grape and wine industry isn't known yet.

Recommended Stories

More from B104.7